Slow Cooker Rotisserie Chicken & Potatoes

I’ve really been loving my slow cooker lately. Between my full time work, this blog, spending time with my hubby and beautiful baby girl, I find little time to cook healthy AND delicious recipes for my family. Sometimes it’s just easier to get a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken from the local grocery store and call it a day.

Enter slow cooker.

The slow cooker has been working overtime for me these days. I give her a job to do, (yes, she’s female) and she delivers every time. I normally load her up with food in the morning before I leave for work but the other day I was off, so I started this meal at about 2:30pm for it to be ready right around dinner time for us. It worked for my schedule beautifully and made life pretty easy that day… well, easier I should say. 🙂

Yes, you can make rotisserie chicken at home in your slow cooker instead of a rotisserie! Hubby LOVED it, so much so, that he commented on it the next night when we had it again for leftovers!

I served it with some broiled lemon asparagus. I would imagine a simple green salad would be great too!

Slow Cooker Rotisserie Chicken & Potatoes

Slow Cooker Rotisserie Chicken & Potatoes

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium onion, cut into eighths
  • 4 sticks celery, cut into 2 inch pieces
  • 1 Tbsp. smoked paprika
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 4-5 lb whole chicken
  • 2 large russet potatoes, diced
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 tsp dried parsley
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 lemon, halved

Directions: Place the onion and celery in the bottom of your slow cooker. Combine the paprika, garlic, onion powder, salt, pepper, and cayenne in a small mixing bowl. Rub all over the chicken and underneath skin. Place the chicken on top of the veggies and put the lid on. Cook on high for 3 hours.

Place the potatoes around the chicken and drizzle with olive oil. Season with the parsley, salt and pepper. Stir them around to mix. Put the lid on and cook on high for an additional hour. Pierce the potatoes with a fork to see if they’re done. Squeeze the lemon juice over the chicken, serve with the potatoes, onion and celery and enjoy the masterpiece. Serves 4.

Slow Cooker Rotisserie Chicken & Potatoes

This is the slow cooker that I use. I love it because it lets you program cook times anywhere from 30 minutes to 20 hours. After the cook time is complete, it automatically shifts to the warm setting. It’s awesome for working Moms. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Rotisserie Chicken & Potatoes

Leave a Reply

